Problem with HID - auto leveling - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab 9-5 '98-'09 Forum > Car Problems? 9-5 Only

Car Problems? 9-5 Only If you're experiencing problems with your 9-5, post your question in here. CEL Code or GTFO!

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-23-2011, 10:51 PM   #1
SAABeginner

Question Problem with HID - auto leveling

First off id like to thank anyone who will help me, I'm a novice mechanic and have no idea how to fix my HID's auto leveling, or even how it works so any help at all is really appreciated.

I do know that somehow, somewhere inside the headlight projector there is something that moves down to cover the bulb when changing from brights to dims because when I have the car off in the garage i can hear the sound of whatever is moving inside the headlights when i pull the stalk to change from bright to dim.

The Problem:
Both lights work fine, and the bulbs appear to be good ( neither is especially pink-insh or anything like that), however, on the driver's side whatever it is that moves inside the headlight assembly doesn't. In other words, my driver's side stays bright when i pull the stalk to dim it I see only a small small change whereas the passenger side levels off completely when on dim. My car just recently started doing this. I have no warning lights on the SID, and both sides do still auto-level correctly.

Has anyone else had this problem, or have any ideas as to why this is happening or what I can do to fix it? Any help would be really appreciated. - Noah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-24-2011, 06:06 AM   #2
Elder

I have never had to take one of the 9-5 Xenon assemblies apart, but it's possible the little actuator for the shield hood is broken, or the hood is jammed.