A/C Blower works intermittently. - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab 9-5 '98-'09 Forum > Car Problems? 9-5 Only

Car Problems? 9-5 Only If you're experiencing problems with your 9-5, post your question in here. CEL Code or GTFO!

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-17-2009, 10:07 AM   #1
SAABeginner

A/C Blower works intermittently.

The blower sometimes works and other times does not. I've been told I should replace the blower motor ($500 parts and labor). I'm wondering if it could be something simpler.. a controller or a bad connection?? I'm not a techie so keep it simple. Any advice would be appreciated.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-18-2009, 06:55 AM   #2
dip
Flirting With TSL Addiction

Send a message via Skype™ to dip
It's most often the blower itself. You can try taking it out and cleaning the brushes on the motor. Or, you can find a used one on eBay, about $100 with some luck and patience.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Old 08-19-2009, 06:56 AM   #3
Avid TSL User

It is also possible to rebrush the motors

There is a guy on fleabay in MD that is selling brushes.
Just make sure he cuts them down to size as it is a close tolerance cutdown.
The motors stop woking when the brushes wear down & no longer make a connection. The replacement brushes cost about $30

Old 08-19-2009, 08:22 AM   #4
TSLMember

Wink Hmmm

Personally, I wouldn't worry all that much about the price of the new part. I hope the dash tear down goes as smooth as possible. I have looked at what the service manual says on how to break it down seems striaght forward but a pain. good luck tell me how it goes.
Old 08-20-2009, 04:48 AM   #5
Avid TSL User