How to T5 a c900, the easy way - Page 24 - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab Classic 900 Forum > General Classic 900 Posts and Information

General Classic 900 Posts and Information Please post general information pertaining to the Classic 900.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-14-2012, 01:56 PM   #461
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
SOAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 906
I believe it was not always on. It is wired to the 6 pin connector (grey red to grey red) in the passenger well where the harness goes through the fender into the engine bay.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by saabkid37 View Post
until something like this is available for saabs, there will be no slammage.

Last edited by SOAB; 04-14-2012 at 02:05 PM.
SOAB is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-14-2012, 01:05 PM   #462
SAABeginner
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
anyone have a link to a 1994 t5 wiring diagram? i cant seem to find one anywhere, as all the links are down
Donkehote is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-14-2012, 05:38 PM   #463
Avid TSL User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 117
This it?

I have a 95 also
Attached Images
File Type: jpg T5_harness.jpg (366.0 KB, 35 views)
jskrebs is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-13-2012, 01:40 PM   #464
Elder
 
mike d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: nashua NH
Posts: 4,476
Garage
Send a message via AIM to mike d
I made a pretty big breakthrough tonight, It should make peoples life a lot easier !!

If you want to use the stock CPS setup that DI/apc uses, you can with a t5.2 ecu. And you can do it using a Ng900 wireing harness!

you just need to add two pins to the ECU plug, and away you go!

More details coming soon

Mike d

EDIT, i also have a t5.5 ecu working with a t5.2 style CPS.. all on a 91 9000 turbo...
__________________
MikeDTuning.com

Last edited by mike d; 07-13-2012 at 03:07 PM.
mike d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-13-2012, 03:35 PM   #465
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 1,354
subscribed. 2 identical 5.2 tunes on a 5.5 ecu?
seriks1 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-13-2012, 03:44 PM   #466
Elder
 
mike d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: nashua NH
Posts: 4,476
Garage
Send a message via AIM to mike d
yep, all running on a 96 9000 wireing harness, mounted on a 91 9000 motor with a 91 9k chassis

The bigger news is that instead of milling out a flywheel, or having to make a CPS kit for a c900, you could just use the OEM style trigger behind the crank pully. This would let you keep you AC!

Also since you can use a t5.5 harness, you get all the easy-to-deal with aspects of that.

im still having some issues with doubleing the file size, when you open it in t5suite, some tables are pretty scattered. i think you would have to make all your edits to the t5.2 file, then double it and flash it, The files thats on the t5.5 ecu looks to be running, but non tuneable when written
__________________
MikeDTuning.com
mike d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-13-2012, 05:55 PM   #467
Elder
 
Cark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Newfound Lake, NH
Posts: 2,978
Garage
Send a message via AIM to Cark
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike d View Post
honestly,, there are very few stubnoses i actually like looking at,, palmers car being one of them... beyond that, most of them look awkward...
Just brushing up on this thread and gaining excitement for my conversion... hopefully I can help sway you on the stub noses!
__________________
02 9-5 Linear turned Aero, 5spd S/C
85 900 turbo - T5ed (in a day)
Cark is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2012, 04:45 PM   #468
Elder
 
mike d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: nashua NH
Posts: 4,476
Garage
Send a message via AIM to mike d
A quick update for all you guys who want to do this and keep here AC, Now an easier way than ever,,

Here is the parts list

If it is not listed below, assume it is the same part that is always needed for a t5 swap (like DI, MAP, ect ect,, things most people reading this post know)

T5.5 harness Non tcs, Preferably from an NG900.

T5.2 ECU, (possibly a t5.5 ecu for advanced users)

Hall effect crank sensor (from EZK equpt c900 or 91-93 9000)

Di/apc Crank trigger wheel. (saab 9000 from 91-93 all)

2.1 crank pulley, and oil pump cover

A working t5suite setup

Instructions

First, modify your Crank pully in the same way people used to for a DI/APC conversion, Very good instructions on how to do this can be found at 900aero.com under the DIY section.

Secondly, open up the plug on the t5.5 harness and locate pin 40, and 64 on the ecu plug, These spots have no connection in them on t5.5.

Create connections to these pins in the harness plug. having an extra harness helps to relocate pins from.

Pin 64 of the T5.5 ecu plug connects to the red wire from the CPS
Pin 40 connects to the green/red wire from the CPS
The BLACK wire from the CPS connects to the middle Pin of the T5.5 CPS plug

Done! with all the wiring updates to accept the easier to fit CPS

Software changes

Open t5suite, download t5.2 bin file from the ECU.

Go into the ECU firmware/Trionic options section

Unselect
ETS
Ram locked flag

Select

-Load Control
-use Idle Injection map
-idle control (enable AIC valve)
-Correction for TPS opening

Plug it all in, and watch it run!
__________________
MikeDTuning.com

Last edited by mike d; 07-15-2012 at 04:55 PM.
mike d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2012, 05:10 PM   #469
Avid TSL User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 117
Mike,

Great development and what I was hoping to do to my 85. Did a partial of this on my 93 CSE when removing TCS.

Did not do this

-Load Control
-use Idle Injection map
-idle control (enable AIC valve)
-Correction for TPS opening

And the Idle is funny, but still so much better than with TCS.

Having trouble sourcing the sensor and pulley. Anyone have either or both? I do have the 5.2 trigger wheel.

Was also wondering if any one has done a Multi V belt on a C900
jskrebs is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2012, 08:26 AM   #470
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
tuner4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mishawaka, IN
Posts: 1,930
Wow, I am thoroughly Impressed, Mike, You keep outdoing yourself over and over again.!
__________________

-Jason
tuner4life is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2012, 01:35 PM   #471
Elder
 
mike d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: nashua NH
Posts: 4,476
Garage
Send a message via AIM to mike d
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuner4life View Post
Wow, I am thoroughly Impressed, Mike, You keep outdoing yourself over and over again.!

Thanks, im actully doing the swap on a 91 9000 turbo, so it already has all the right CPS stuff,, i thought it would be a good time to figure out how to make it all work!
__________________
MikeDTuning.com
mike d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-18-2012, 04:52 PM   #472
Avid TSL User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 117
Part number for T5.2 CPS

for Trionic 5.2 use Standard Motor Products PC744 late style connector and PC493 early style connector
jskrebs is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2012, 11:17 AM   #473
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
SOAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 906
Quick question, I am redoing my harness and taking out anything I don't need. I want to be able to live tune it right now but thats not a super high priority right now so what wires should I leave in the ECU harness to be able to wire in a USB bdm or what ever able I need to get down the line.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by saabkid37 View Post
until something like this is available for saabs, there will be no slammage.
SOAB is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2012, 11:19 AM   #474
Elder
 
dan-the-kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 7,338
You need to keep the CAN High(H) and CAN Low(L) leads for use with a CANUSB.

For a BDM, you'd need to solder in header pins in the ECU. Its not something you'd want to set it permanently for a "in car" situation.
__________________
Yeah, T5.2 its -.3 better then the rest.
1989 900 SPG: Trionic 5(stg1), Aero seats, TD04-15G, 3" Turboback. SOLD
1993 9000 Aero: 3"Turboback, T5Suite Stg.3
dan-the-kid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2012, 11:30 AM   #475
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
SOAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 906
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan-the-kid View Post
You need to keep the CAN High(H) and CAN Low(L) leads for use with a CANUSB.

For a BDM, you'd need to solder in header pins in the ECU. Its not something you'd want to set it permanently for a "in car" situation.

Oh that sounds right, thanks! I have the pins for BDM but the bdm cable is dead and thats obviously not the way to do live tuning. Does the Canusb need anything els? switched power or ground anything like that?
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by saabkid37 View Post
until something like this is available for saabs, there will be no slammage.
SOAB is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2012, 11:31 AM   #476
Elder
 
mike d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: nashua NH
Posts: 4,476
Garage
Send a message via AIM to mike d
can you even do livetuning though a BDM? i didnt think that was possible?
__________________
MikeDTuning.com
mike d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2012, 01:32 PM   #477
Elder
 
dan-the-kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 7,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOAB View Post
Oh that sounds right, thanks! I have the pins for BDM but the bdm cable is dead and thats obviously not the way to do live tuning. Does the Canusb need anything els? switched power or ground anything like that?
For the "live tuning" CANUSB you just have to have the ECU powered, and the two CAN H/L lines hooked up.


Quote:
Originally Posted by mike d View Post
can you even do livetuning though a BDM? i didnt think that was possible?
Nope, the whole premis of the BDM or "Background Debug Mode" interface is that it hard reads/writes directly to the memory on the ECU, not even going through any other part of the ECU.
__________________
Yeah, T5.2 its -.3 better then the rest.
1989 900 SPG: Trionic 5(stg1), Aero seats, TD04-15G, 3" Turboback. SOLD
1993 9000 Aero: 3"Turboback, T5Suite Stg.3
dan-the-kid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2012, 01:42 PM   #478
Elder
 
mike d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: nashua NH
Posts: 4,476
Garage
Send a message via AIM to mike d
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan-the-kid View Post
For the "live tuning" CANUSB you just have to have the ECU powered, and the two CAN H/L lines hooked up.




Nope, the whole premis of the BDM or "Background Debug Mode" interface is that it hard reads/writes directly to the memory on the ECU, not even going through any other part of the ECU.
Thats what i thought....
__________________
MikeDTuning.com
mike d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2012, 07:18 PM   #479
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
SOAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 906
Thats what I thought too. Sorry if what I said was confusing in any way. I was just trying to clarify my very very slim knowledge of live tuning
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by saabkid37 View Post
until something like this is available for saabs, there will be no slammage.
SOAB is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2012, 02:22 PM   #480
SAAB Road Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: ϟϟMeine Ehre heißt Treue
Posts: 392
Reason why classic 900 never came with DI cassette is because DI cassette can't work properly at too much angle. There is oil in the coils and when angled too much oil will not cover one side of the coil wiring properly and coil can overheat and go bad. This is true for early DI cassettes 1988-1994 when C900 was still in the production. I don't know if new cassettes are filled with gel so that they can work at an angle
Raul is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
lol raul, mike d tuned, t5 c900, t5 spg, trionic 5, trionic c900

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content is copyright © The Saab Link and it's original authors.



Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.