Saab Link Forums banner

AutoX questions

1K views 9 replies 5 participants last post by  Redfoxx 
#1 ·
i'm actually going to get my feet wet and try out AutoX with the 9-5 this year and was wondering if anyone had any hints or tips with AutoX, especially a basic handling characteristics of the 9-5 Aero. i am an alignment tech in our body shop and plan on doing a little toe out on the front for sure but not sure about what toe setting i should do for the rear.
i would adjust camber but all four of my wheels have more negative camber in them than they should and the only way to adjust them is by using adjustment bolts up front and shims in the rear but i don't really see what the camber i have now as a concern.

the group that puts on the AutoX here have a test and tune day May 1st and a week or two later have a school. i was thinking about just going to the first test and tune day just to watch and doing the school a week or two later or is this something i should just dive in to the test and tune right away?

#2 ·
The biggest modification you can to a car for autocross is the nut behind the wheel.

Last year at the autocross novice school, many people in less than competitive cars (saabs for one) were able to school guys in much nicer cars.

The test and tune could be wasted on someone without much autocross experience, but if it is the sort of T&T that allows others to ride int he car with you and coach you give suggestion about your driving style then it might be worth it. Tire pressure changes can do quite a bit for the feel of the car. I always start at around 45psi and go down from there depending on how my car is behaving on the pavement surface. You want the high pressure to keep the sidewalls from flexing. You can also increase or deacrease oversteer and understeer by playing with the pressures in the front and rear.