Saab Link Forums banner

any headgasket write ups?

3K views 13 replies 11 participants last post by  SOAB 
#1 ·
i need a step by step guide to change the headgasket in my 91 9000. this is my first time doing this so any guide would he helpful.

#2 ·
new-body ever have to replace their headgasket? even the first few steps would help me out alot. never done this before.

like what do i take off first? then what? yada yada yada.

if anyones near baltimore and wants to lend a hand that be cool.

#5 · (Edited)
I've done my share on the c900. I'm sure that the basics are the same. There is a good step-by-step of the procedure on the Townsend site.

A couple other things:

Get some small zip-lock bags. Put the hardware you take off in individual bags and label them as to where the parts came from.

When you take the VC off, clean the cam sprockets and chain and put some alignment marks on the chain and sprockets. Also mark the cam and the cam cap. The tic marks on the cams aren't always accurate. It will make realignment that much easier. You can use a white paint marker.

Be careful of the chain guide when taking the head off, they are fragile.

You'll need a special torx socket to get the head bolts off. They are usually 3/8" drive, so you'll need a 1/2"-3/8" adapter for your torque wrench (which will likely be 1/2" drive). Make you you get a hardened impact-grade adapter. Anything less will break.

#6 ·
Sorry to thread jack but any ideas advice on the timing of a 1995 Aero? Ive got the valve cover off and I found a cap that looks like its supposed to open up to a notch to spin the timing chain but im scared to do it too hard.. does any body have any advice of how to turn the engine and just so im sure where to turn it to?

#7 ·
Bump.

Looks like I have a weeping HG, and will have to swap it out. Looking for a post that has a good description of the procedure. I do have the Haynes manual to help.

#8 ·